They start so young.

Monday through Thursday my daughter has homework. She brings it home in a binder, and there are usually two or three things I need to sign. The teachers are serious about getting those signatures, too. If I forget to sign whatever I need to sign, Morrigan’s name goes up on the board. If I forget twice, she has to walk during recess. This isn’t a problem; I make it a point to know what she’s doing in school anyway.

Part of her homework is reading two phonics books out loud, twice a week for each. She used to have four books per week, but it was changed. The teacher had pre-marked the books to show where the parent’s signature should go. The upshot was that one of her books had extra signature lines on it. I signed the one that was required and left the other blank.

The threat of having to walk during recess must have really made an impression on Morrigan. She saw the blank line, thought I’d forgotten to sign, and decided to “fix” it.

forgery

I must say that I’m impressed. That’s pretty good for a kid who doesn’t know cursive writing and still writes her Ps backwards.

12 thoughts on “They start so young.

  1. My sons school one tried to give him a detention because I hadn’t signed his log book (he was 16 at the time) I pointed out that although I hadn’t signed it once his teacher hadn’t bothered on over a dozen occasions. Why a child should be punished for the parents transgression confounds me tbh. Nice to see a young un showing some iniative too, sign off a bright and enquiring mind. 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t get it either. It’s like a nasty form of coercion: “Sign this, or your kid will PAY! Muah ha ha ha!” I wasn’t even mad at Morrigan. Like you I thought, “Way to look out for yourself, kid!” At the same time, I don’t want it to become a habit. 😉

      Like

    • Nor do I. Generally I support the teachers. I know it’s difficult to get and keep parents involved. This is just the wrong way to go about it, in my opinion. If I ever learn that my daughter got punished for something I forgot to do, I’m going to make such a huge stink.

      Like

Lay it on me.

