I was going to share the project I started working on today…

But then I heard that Robin Williams is dead.

Many years ago Robin played the role of Mork, an alien sent to earth to study humankind, on a show called Mork and Mindy. The show was filled with all kinds of silliness, like Mork drinking with his finger.

mork-from-ork

Robin as Mork from Ork.

It always ended with Mork in his space alien uniform, standing illuminated in the middle of a large dark space, delivering his report to his superiors on Ork. His musings on the humans he encountered never failed to touch his audience. At least, it never failed to make this eight year old kid (at the time) feel real feelings. It was marvelous, and I don’t think another actor could have provided Mork with the same soul, the same dignity that Robin did.

A star was born.

Over the years we all had many opportunities to see Robin perform in roles that were silly, dramatic, and sublime. Truth be told, sometimes he irritated the shit out me, but overall, I loved him.

It’s no secret that Robin Williams suffered from Bipolar Disorder and Depression. This man had access to  resources, had a loving wife and family, was adored by millions of people. Sadly it wasn’t enough to stop him from taking his own life at the age of 63.

It seems to me that this is a good time to renew the commitment I made back when I first started Bleached Bone Valley:

bfmh14-copy-e1388959797718

I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

If you or anybody you know is struggling with depression, please know that the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 1-800-273-8255.

Goodbye, Robin. I’ll miss you.

deadpoets

10 thoughts on “I was going to share the project I started working on today…

  1. Beautiful tribute, Jennifer.

    I just feel so sad about this. One of my favourite experiences with the sublime Mr Williams was when he appeared on an episode of Whose Line is it Anyway? He had an amazing, fast paced mind, and he was able to keep up with Ryan, Colin, and Wayne in the improvisation stakes, no problem at all.

    It’s awful to think that the same mind might have led him to end his life so prematurely. I wish he hadn’t done it. I could have done it. This is why mental health issues should be treated seriously, and not as a joke or a sign of weakness.

    It’s kind of eerie actually. My post next week is going to be about Ernest’s depression. Timely? I can’t think about that right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am the least likely person to give two shits about a celebrity, but this one hit me. I cried.

      There are times when I flippantly call myself crazy. I assume that people who read my blog know about my issues (at least the ones I have thus far revealed). I guess it’s my way of putting it out there in people’s faces and making them see the face of “crazy”.

      Sometimes I compare my Depressive Disorder to other forms of “crazy”, and I start to think, “Hell. I’ve got it easy.” I almost feel silly for speaking out.

      It’s sad beyond words that it takes a suicide for people to remember that depression can kill you, that it’s not a “lesser” form of crazy, that people who find the courage to speak up and say, “I’m depressed,” shouldn’t be brushed off or shamed or told to “get over it” or “be more positive”.

      I don’t even know where I’m going with this. I just feel very sad right now, and I wish Robin was still here to make us laugh. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Lay it on me.

