Very Inspiring Bloggers (It’s about damned time.)

It’s been (way?) more than a month since I was nominated for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award by the lovely Opinionated Duck. Thank you for that, OpD. It was a delightful and unexpected honor.

To be honest, I wasn’t quite sure what to do with it. It seemed that most people I “knew” already had the award or had been nominated and did not accept the award. It seemed in keeping with the spirit of the thing to give it to bloggers who are less known. So, I’ve been poking around, looking for the hidden treasures; blogs that I find inspiring, funny, creative, wicked… but whom you probably don’t yet know. I found some; some found me. It’s been awesome.

The rules for accepting this award are as follows: There are new rules for accepting that you should find much easier. Because I said so.

1. Thank and link to the amazing person who nominated you.
Done. (but better link again. Justin Kase.)

2. List the rules and display the award.
If you are reading this, then it is done.

3. Share seven facts about yourself.
ugh. All right. Here goes:

  • I’m almost five years older than my husband.
  • My hair is slowly turning white rather than grey.
  • I’m strangely ok with my hair turning white and wish it would just hurry up and do it already.
  • I play Pokemon on my kid’s DS.
  • I do decent imitations of Spongebob laughing, Patrick, Sandy Cheeks, and Lisa Simpson.
  • I also do a pretty accurate visual imitation of Stan Laurel. It’s scary, yo.
  • I almost never say “yo” in real life, but I do say “oy”.

huh. That was easier than I thought it’d be.

4. Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.

Here are the blogs I was all set and ready to nominate as of yesterday, in no particular order. You can thank me for introducing you them by sending me chocolate. Or money. Scratch that. Money would be best.

  • Rachael, for her gut-wrenching honesty and for being one of the most bad-ass chicks I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting.
  • Abigail, for doing everything she does in spite of her pain and for reminding me that just because I can’t do it today doesn’t mean I shouldn’t try again tomorrow.
  • Amy, because I think she might be SuperMom. Go. Read her blog. Then wipe the tears of laughter out of your eyes and use the bathroom before you pee yourself.
  • Lance, for telling tales, tall and otherwise, the way only a Texan can. The man’s got heart. (He’s probably been nominated already, but it’s my party, and I’ll break my rule if I want to.)
  • Jami takes you with her when she writes, and you feel it.
  • Cat Man (yes, I call him Cat Man. I don’t know what you’re going to call him. That’s between you and him. He would probably prefer Will as that is his name.) is a guy going to college at the BYU in the UT. He is smart and funny and writes beautifully. He’s the kind of kid (forgive a middle-aged woman for calling you a kid, will you, CM?) that any mother would be proud to call her own.
  • Tony (NSFW) is super-talented and from what I’ve seen he’s a genuinely nice person. I checked him out after he followed me, and I was immediately blown away–and humbled.
  • Erin is everything you always wanted to be: smart, successful, gorgeous, and funny as hell. She is the bee’s knees.
  • Many of you know Ali, but he rocks my socks off, and I thought he should know.

Now for a bit of nepotism. Because I can.

  • Tom: Ok, so I know he has only made one post, and that’s a damn shame because my husband is talented and witty and the coolest mofo I have ever met. Still, he *technically* qualifies as a blogger (I will make him post. I swear it, by golly!), and he inspires me on a daily basis. He is just that good.
  • Morrigan already has more posts (and followers) than her dad. Yes, I type them for her, but she decides what to post about, and they are (mostly) in her words. Morrigan is smart and funny and doesn’t have a gullible bone in her six year old body. She’s a girl after my own heart, and I’m so glad she’s my daughter. She has inspired many posts around here.

I would happily nominate my son, who also blogs (we have a lot to say, my family does), but he is not ready for his mom to share it with you. I respect that. A young man needs a space apart from his mother, and thank goodness! I didn’t raise no Momma’s boy. Still, since the day he was born (and even before that) Henry has been inspiring me to be a better person today than I was yesterday. The boy truly is the apple of my eye.

SoΒ  that leaves four open spots. The bloggers I’m awarding them to have absolutely no idea who the hell I am. I’m ok with that, and they should feel free to just roll with it. Or not. It’s all good.

  • Emil is being nominated for being so earnest and sincere in the desire to live an intellectually honest and fulfilling life whilst following the unofficial atheist maxim (we’re not a club, you know): “Just don’t be a dick.” What’s up, Emil?
  • Samuel… What can I say about Samuel? How about: Metalhead, Middle Earth, Music, Midi, and Video Games (so much for alliteration). If that isn’t a load of awesome RIGHT IN YOUR FACE, then there is simply no hope for you.
  • American Icons Temple deserves more attention. (I think they might get it, too, if they fix the typo in their address. If you folks need help figuring out how to do that, give me a holler. I’m happy to lend a hand.) It’s a great concept: a well written and informative magazine focused on modern cultural history. It’s got nostalgia going for it, too. You should be reading it and saying to yourself, “Oh, yeah! I remember that.”
  • I don’t know how many followers Cortland has. Doesn’t matter. He should have more. This guy knows where it’s at.

5. Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you.
Ha! Shows what you know. I already follow Opinionated Duck.

Happy Reading, gators. πŸ˜€

50 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Bloggers (It’s about damned time.)

  1. This cane as such a surprise! Took a moment to understand it all.

    Thank you, Jennifer! I’m glad you find my blog worthy of being nominated πŸ˜€

    I’m inspired to continue showing people that there’s a positivity and meaning in life – god or not!

    Now to pick 15 best blogs from all the good ones I follow.

    Like

    • Curses! I was so excited when you found me. I thought, “YES! A great read AND another spot checked off on my homework… I mean *honor*.

      Sorry about the bees. For all I know they don’t even *have* knees, the little liars.

      Like

      • Well, I followed pretty much all the blogs you posted, which seem pretty awesome, so there’s that. And maybe I’ll do a reprise just to share some of my newer favorite blogs I’ve found since that last post πŸ˜‰

        And bees probably do have knees – nasty, creepy, sticky, hairy little knees.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I really don’t know what to say. Thank you just doesn’t seem to do it justice.
    I never thought when I started this adventure of Literary Tourette’s, that anyone would read it let alone Follow it.
    I too have an awful lot of catching up to do.
    Thanks will have to do for now. πŸ™‚

    XX

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for the nomination! Sorry you socks got rocked off, I hope your feet don’t get cold πŸ™‚
    Seriously, I feel honoured. I’ll check out the other nominees when I get a sec!

    Like

  4. I’d like to thank my Ma and Da for havin’ me. I’d like to thank God (even though I don’t believe in him). I’d like to thank the guy with the lightning slash who lives in the broom closet under the stairs… Ahem. Anyway, for reals this time, thank YOU. This is a very cool thing to do, especially when my site has such downbeat (and occasionally a little bit naughty) stuff on it. I’m considering making a separate page for this award. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • If you stick around long enough (and I hope you will) you’ll find out that I have some pretty downbeat stuff, too. I started blogging right about the time I started being treated for depressive disorder. Honestly, I just wanted to die. Occasionally I still do, but it’s not so bad as it was before I went on meds.

      Anyway, upbeat/downbeat, I like you. I like your blog. I’m glad you came around at a time when I had this unique opportunity to express my appreciation of your talents and of you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, believe me, I will stick around (like a bad smell). I love it here! And I like you and your writerly voice (yes, writerly is now a word because I say so)!

        As for me, I’ve had this depression for all my adult life (most of my teens too), so I’m afraid my little comic does somewhat reflect that emotional reality. People who know me have been a little shocked by the things I’ve put in there, and I’m wondering if you’ve had that same experience too…

        Like

        • Yeah, you could say that. My depression started in my teens as well, and while it’s always been there I’ve been able to cope pretty well, mainly through humor. I’ve had two major episodes in my life during which I was experiencing either active or passive suicidal ideation. This most recent bout has been of the passive variety.

          If you go back far enough you’ll find some pretty blunt posts about past trauma which in turn lead to some passive aggressive bullshit from people who thought I was being too…I don’t know… depressing??? Imagine that. Anyway. I closed up shop on my own blog and started over at Fluff & Bunkum. My about page is still a thinly veiled “Fuck You” to those people.

          Like

          • For what it’s worth, I’ve done a lot of passive aggressive bullshit in my life, and even as recently as last year when I went through a bit of a meltdown. Well, I say “a bit of”. It was kind of a big deal I suppose. Anyway, I digress. Passive aggression is pretty annoying when you’re the recipient of it, but pretty liberating when you’re the perpetrator of it. We’re only human! πŸ™‚

            Like

          • True enough! It always cracks me up when someone posts an unflattering picture of another person with comments about how passive aggressive they are. I always think, “Wait. Are they doing this ironically?” It’s like a Poe’s law.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Exactly. I’ll at least own up to my own passive aggressiveness, and I am attempting to curb it. Now, if only those others who were the same to me could own up to it as well… πŸ˜›

            Liked by 1 person

          • Wait… I feel like I’m being passive aggressive to those people right now. I guess it’s really only that if they’re reading, right? Gah. That’s a rabbit hole that I’m not going down. Time for chocolate! You’ll see me around. Bye for now!

            Liked by 1 person

  5. I thought you should know that I actually had a little moment of tearing up over this ❀ I'm having a mega poo brain day so I can't quite find the words, but know that my thank you is very much heart felt. Like… squishy and warm kind of feeling. Like a bowl of warm jelly.

    Liked by 1 person

Lay it on me.

