Why I’m running a half marathon dressed as a black dog

He’s the hero we need. And now, he will run.

#BlackDogRunner

There’s always been a plan. It may not seem that way – what with the disappearances, the hissy fits, and the dramatic decline in the quality of my blog posts – but there’s always been a plan. And it’s time I let you know about it…

Last year, when I was suffering from severe depression, a dear friend ran the Great North Run half marathon in memory of her father. She isn’t fond of running, and she’d never done a race before. But since he’d been a keen runner, and had always wanted her to be, it was something she was determined to do.

Around the same time, I also started running. Not to run a race – don’t be silly – but to help my mental health. Now let’s be clear, I am not what you’d call a natural athlete. Most of my adult life has been spent…

View original post 764 more words

Lay it on me.

