I wonder why he made her hold a dead bird…

I was browsing Getty’s Open Content yesterday. There are some wonderful images there, including some gorgeous photography. And then I saw her: Could this be my Patience?

Hugh Welch Diamond, photographer (British, 1809 - 1886) [Seated Woman with a Bird], about 1855, Albumen silver print Image: 19.1 x 14.4 cm (7 1/2 x 5 11/16 in.) The J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles

Hugh Welch Diamond, photographer (British, 1809 – 1886)
[Seated Woman with a Bird], about 1855, Albumen silver print
Image: 19.1 x 14.4 cm (7 1/2 x 5 11/16 in.)
The J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles

So today I’ve been working on giving her a little color:

Patience?

As you can see, it’s still very much a work in progress. She needs a new background of course, and a cat. 🙂

 

 

8 thoughts on “I wonder why he made her hold a dead bird…

  1. Pingback: Book Cover Concept #1 | AZ Gringa

  2. Wow! It seems your Photoshop skills are far in advance of my own! (And, yes, a cat would be better than a dead bird, as long as it isn’t a dead cat. Or maybe Schrödinger’s cat in there as a compromise…)

    Like

Lay it on me.

