If I just rearrange things a bit I can totally fit at least three more irons in that fire.

This is how I know the flare is abating. The crack squirrels are spinning in their wheels again.

First things first: I am not going to pretend that I can ever catch up on everyone’s blog. That is just a fool’s errand. I will, however, get caught up enough. Bear with me, if you please.

Also, I am re-doing my own blog. Again. I’m tired of my landing page. And, since my son asked if he could do something specific with his blog and on the surface it looked like he couldn’t so I spent a little time figuring out just how he could do it if he wanted, I now have a whole new appreciation of just how much functionality there actually is with a free WordPress hosted account + free template. (shhh…don’t tell them I said so, but I can’t see any real reason for ever buying a paid account. Except maybe to get rid of ads? And maybe you don’t like that “.wordpress.com” tacked on your site name? Even so, yearly hosting is pretty cheap elsewhere… I dunno.) This leads nicely into my next topic…

I’m going to start doing custom headers for people’s blogs. The first one is a freebie for someone who’s been waiting way too long for it. (I bet you thought I forgot, huh?) I actually have a separate blog in the works for that. It’s called Real Life Virtual. I’ll let you know when it’s up and running.

I also signed up for Mozilla’s Webmaker program. I’ll probably have a section on RLV devoted to Maker stuff.

I’ve got two books in the works. One of them is going to require a good deal of research, so that one has been back burnered for now. The other seems to flow pretty easily and doesn’t require any research. I think it’s best to get the easier tasks out of the way before tackling the harder ones, don’t you? Anyway, expect to see a full-on Patience book soon… probably in 2-3 months.

It looks like my business may start to take off soon. Tom got a really good lead for me. (Damn it, Tom, when the hell are you going to post something?) If that doesn’t work out, then I’m going to apply for a position that is opening up near my home in a couple of weeks. Truthfully, I’m nervous about it. Part of the reason I’m writing books and showing artwork is because I really need to be doing something that allows me some flexibility when I’m physically down. Also, I hate the rat race, yo. I hate corporate America. I want to do something I like for a change. BUT, bills do not stop just because I feel crappy and unfulfilled.

Oh, yeah… I forgot to mention the art thing. I’m getting ready to show my work at a booth at one or more of the local street fairs soon. That will be happening right around the time I’m ready to publish my first book. I’ve been working on some special pieces that are just for the booth. I’ll post some of them afterwards. They’re awesome, if I do say so myself–way better than anything I’ve posted. I’m very proud of them.

Lastly, there are things I need to get back to. To that end, I think I owe everyone an explanation. I’m not saying it’s a good one, mind you, but it’s the only one I’ve got. For now I’ll just end by saying this: in the pursuit of mental health and happiness one is confronted with some interesting and unexpected turns. Here’s to hoping that the path ahead is a little straighter than it was before.

Later, gators.

14 thoughts on “If I just rearrange things a bit I can totally fit at least three more irons in that fire.

  1. This is awesome news! Congrats on all the good stuff happening right now ❤ Just make sure to pace yourself with these things and don't burn yourself out all in one go. I've made that mistake a few times and always think I'm able to outsmart it, but it catches me.

    Like

    • I hear you. I am trying to pace myself and NOT bite off more than I can chew. It may be that if one of my ventures takes off particularly well then others will fall to the wayside. As for writing and making art, though, I’m going to do that anyway. Might as well try to make a go of something, right?

      Like

      • Honestly, my art and my work is what keeps me sane. Even if you’re only moving at a snail’s pace, do one creative thing a day. You’ll learn to love yourself for your achievements, no matter how small.

        Like

    • I do, but it’s manageable right now. If I have to let something go by the wayside, I can do that. The only things I’m not willing to let go are my writing and my art. Those things keep me somewhat sane. If I could actually make a living from them that would be…

      Hell, when I think of the word that comes remotely close to describing the awesomeness that would ensue I’ll post it. 😀

      Like

Lay it on me.

