Oh, Henry.

As suspected, the boy has been reading my blog. He says he pulled it up for the first time Wednesday and saw his real name staring at him. (I told you that would get his attention.) He also says the only posts he read were Regarding Henry, Who does she think she is, anyway?, and A Royal Birthday (which I now humbly dedicate to Art. Go wish him a Happy Birthday, why don’t ya? He won’t mind if it’s belated.)

Oh, Henry. Henry, Henry, Henry. You know I love you, boy, and I mean this with all sincerity: You’re a bad liar. It’s nothing to be ashamed of. You’re a bad liar because you are also an honest person who, ultimately, doesn’t much care for lying. You only do it when you think it’s in the other person’s best interest. I see this about you. So, I tell you what: you and I need to have an understanding. I already explained (I think) that I am going to talk about things here that I would rather keep from you and M for now. But, if you are determined to read my blog, I really can’t stop you. So…

I’m not going to censor myself, son. That would not help me, and right now I need all the help I can get. I think you know that as you are being extra special nice to me. (Which is very nice, indeed, since you are always nice to me.) That means that if you keep coming here, you might learn more about your mother than you were prepared for. I apologize in advance, but I can’t make your choices for you. There is something I can do, though. I can make you a promise.

I promise that, if you read something here that worries you or causes you concern or just confuses you –whatever– you can come and talk to me. You don’t have to pretend that you didn’t read it. I am a grown woman. I can handle the truth. This isn’t exactly how I intended you to learn some of these things, but it’s OK. We’ll just make it up as we go along. That’s all anybody really does, anyway.

And a note to anybody else reading this: I will actually, you know, SPEAK to my son about this.  I just wanted to document this for myself more than anything else.

Also, have I mentioned I have fantastic kids? I do. Truly.

16 thoughts on “Oh, Henry.

  1. My mom reads my blog and every now and again Josh reads it, but usually only when I drag him over to the laptop and shove something in his face. He gets that there are times I need a safe place to vent about him. If he reads it other times he’s never let on.

    Like

    • I hear you. I had to really think about how I would handle it if I discovered that Henry was reading my blog regularly, about whether or not I would censor myself. I have decided not to go that route. I hope I’m doing the right thing.

      Like

  2. That would be tough. People I know who live outside my house don’t know I have a blog (more freedom to write that way.) I’m glad you’ve decided not to censor yourself. It could make for some good conversations between you and your son.

    Like

    • My son and I are very close, and he understands that I need this outlet. If I asked him not to come anymore, he would respect that. But… I would have shared my blog with him eventually. I didn’t expect it would be quite this soon, but he’s a mature young man. I think he can handle it.

      Like

Lay it on me.

