Balance and Perspective

I saw this image and kind of chuckled to myself, and I thought, “Dang! I can’t balance half the pills half so well.” But then I found the original blog and read the accompanying text.

Balancing Act is an installation by Slinkachu, artist and photographer of The Little People Project. According to Slinkachu:

“This installation was left in Khayelitsha, a township in Cape Town… The settlement is home to around 500,000 people and experiences many problems such as poverty, crime and a high rate of HIV infection – an estimated 16% of the population. Life can be tough, especially for children.

This image will be available to purchase from my shows with a percentage of the proceeds going to Baphumelele, a community project in Khayelitsha that aims to help local children. Specifically the money will be used in projects that help children who have been affected by HIV/AIDS – Clemens Cares For Kids which helps children suffering from HIV/AIDS and Baphumelele Children’s Home which looks after children who have been orphaned or abandoned.”
.
And then I looked at my two healthy kids and remembered just how lucky I am.
.
4 thoughts on “Balance and Perspective

  1. Pingback: More Spam | Bleached Bone Valley

Lay it on me.

